Home Saver's Blog

head_left_image

NACA Complaints and Reviews

                                                  NACA Complaints and Reviews

 

Before  I decided to write this blog, I really deliberated over it. I am not one to bash companies, especially ones that have been featured on CNN and are perceived to be helping people in need. But after watching the CNN special on NACA (Neighborhood Assistance Corporation of America) I decided to do some of my own research and find out about this free assistance they offer homeowners in distress. (I work hand in hand with Attorneys who help homeowners avoid foreclosure, but some folks don't have money for an Attorney so I wanted to find a place I could send people for free help, although the results probably wouldn't be as rewarding.) Well, needless to say I was more than astonished and appalled at what I found and I promised a lot of people that I would post a blog dedicated to them. My blogs tend to show up in Google frequently because of the valuable information I provide. 

First off, I would like to say I have not had any personal experience with NACA or their counselors. But I have found many many websites where people are complaining about their experiences with NACA. I have also seen a few comments about how NACA did help them. I am glad I did this research before deciding to send people here. I have read NACA's webpage that explains the Home Save Program and what they portray on this particular page seems to conflict with what many homeowners are saying. 

 

Here are just a few of the NACA Complaints and Reviews I have found, although I am sure NACA has helped some people .But this blog is focused on complaints and reviews from homeowner's themselves. I encourage anyone who has had an experience with NACA to post a comment. You will be seen and heard and will also help others as they are doing research to find a solution. You do not have to register to comment and feel free to stay anonymous.

 

"Written by (will not state name), on 04-08-2010 22:12 

Naca is a sorry company . I almost lost my home behind them. THANKS TO GOD SAVE MY HOME!!! All they do is get you deep behind. THey do not update the file on lines as there is where you willget your update. If you look at my udate no reponse from the Bank. The Bank response three months ago. I had 20 of worry almost lost my home and I was sick made about 50 calls over and over. No one knows what the *** the process consists of. I did not even know my case worker name I was back and forth with many. Please be advise with this company they do not know one file form the other. Like everyone there on the dam job training whilw you about to lose your home!!!!!!"

 

"Written by (will not state name), on 25-06-2010 11:51 

I too have wasted a considerable amount of time and energy believeing in and trusting NACA. They come to you as a savior but in the end do very little if anything to help you. We went to the "Save the Dream" tour, wasted almost 2 days waiting around, listened to testamonials with people crying about thier new lower mortgage, I wonder what kind of tears they are crying now. We pay our mortgage and can now afford it but we want out of the predatoryinterest only loan and that is one of the promises that NACA made. Well we have been denied a modification and NACA will not return my calls or emails. WOW.. Of course the worst part is that now that we are working with NACA our lender won't deal directly with us. What a colassal waste of time!!! Be warned... DON'T DO IT!  Oh, and in my "Save the Dream" excitment I referred 2 others to NACA and they too have gotten nothing but frustration."

 

"Written by Dianey, on 22-06-2010 06:57 

I had two years of my time wasted with NACA, including a 12 hour day I spent at one of their Save The Dream events. Went through the entire process twice because the first time nothing happpened for an entire year and my paperwork was lost. A year later I went to Save the Dream and applied again and and nothing ever came of it either. I got a lot of run around, no follow up, no returned phone calls, great difficulty getting through to anyone. My lender said they never got the paperwork from NACA because they don't accept it electroncially. NACA says they only do it electronically and do it all the time, so the bank must be lying. NACA said they would get a negotiator on the case and get back to me and they never did. I never heard from anyone. I got nowhere. So much for saving my dream. Instead of taking so many on and then letting so many fall through the cracks, why don't they take fewer and follow through on the ones they do take instead of the shot gun approach. I don't understand this organization."

 

"Written by NACA phone counseling not help, on 04-06-2010 13:57 

I have been trying to do phone counseling with NACA for help in forclosure prevention since February. I went to a workshop in December 2009. Submitted my paperwork electronically and when I got a phone session, the agent said to send in the same paper work that I had already filled in on the website and that I had already faxed. There were several phone appointments that I never got a call at the appointment time. I tried calling back and got lost in queue purgatory. Tried emailing and never got a reply. So much time when by that when I finally got another NACA phone person on the phone, she said I had to RE-SUBMIT ALL PAPERWORK because it has to be kept up to date"

 

*There are hundreds, maybe even thousands more complaints. I will not post them all, but please feel free to vent and explain your experience to others.*

 

Also, I would like to mention that I do have a Nationally based Law Firm that is affordable compared to most, who have a refund policy, and have been established for 20 years that I can refer you to. If you have tried this route with NACA and it hasn't worked for you, and you still have a little fight left in you, I would strongly recommend you to get legal council. I also offer free advice and will give you as much guidance as possible. 

 

 

NO SPAMMING OR ADVERTISING ON MY BLOGS! MY BLOGS ARE FOR INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY!

 

More useful Blogs:

 

How to Avoid Loan Modification / Loss Mitigation Scams

Loan Modification Scams Update

Loss Mitigation Services FAQ's

Investors Facing Foreclosure

Why won't my lender won't work with me?

How to Prevent Foreclosure on Your Investment Property

www.KeepYourProperty.info

 

 

 

 


 

C Thompson

Account Manager

Call me: 

Fax: 206-203-1890

Email me: keepyourproperty911@gmail.com

 

Comment balloon 73 commentsC. Thompson • August 13 2010 10:38PM

Comments

I tried using NACA personally and they are a joke.  No two reps will tell you the same story.  They claim to have agreements in place with the lenders but my lender ignored them completely.  My lender said they never received ANYTHING from NACA.  It was a complete waste of time. 

Posted by Rhonda Burgess, Moving to Nashville TN Real Estate Specialist (Southern Living Realty Partners) almost 9 years ago

Hi, Thanks for information about NACA. I have heard some other not so great stories on NACA.

Posted by John almost 9 years ago

we are resident of sacramento, ca. in october 2010  we attended a save the home workshop, and my note was reduced $400. i must say that my note was current and has never been late but it was an interest only loan and we needed relief. Now my tax and ins. is included and it is a 2% fixed which used to be 8%. NACA does what it says, the lender /servicer are the ones who have game. If we had followed the servicers suggestion of not paying note for nov or dec. we would have not have the good deal that we did get. HALLELUJAH for Wisdom!!! We pray that everyones home can be saved and get as good or better deal than us!!! In Jesus name

Posted by Anonymous over 8 years ago

We went through NACA and had good and bad experience. The outcome though is we are in house that we would not have been able to get without NACA, no down payment, no closing cost, no private mortgage insurance, so I can't bad mouth this company too bad. I don't know about the home save program but purchasing a home is possible through NACA. My bad experience is there is no communication but I understand because the counselors are worked to the bone, they don't have time for call backs sometimes. They did move our closing date a few times and even the day we closed, we weren't sure it was going to happen so that was a pain. The last con with NACA is their Hands department, now those people don't know what they are doing. They lied or just did not do their job. My husband had to stay on top of them. If I had to go back though, I would do it all again. Our bank approved us for $50000 less than NACA with closing costs, down payment of at least $5000, and that was the best deal we could get before NACA. I am a responsible homeowner due to NACA.

Posted by Jessica Williford over 8 years ago

Naca has never gotten back to me and I coud never get through any of he one hundrd phone numbers. I spent two day at the Los Angeles sports arena and every hour I spent there total of twenty-nine hours I recieved nothing but promises. So far NACA will only e-mail me telling me where they will be next and to tell your friends; well I value my friends and I wont do that to them.

Please, please people don't get pulled into the hopes and dreams that will be shattered!!!!

Posted by e franco over 8 years ago

NACA's major problem is that you are not asigned a counselor to work with you through out the process. Everytime you call you speak to someone else who doesn't have a clue about your file or situation. In fact when my loan modification was denied NACA never bothered to give me the reason why, so that I could try and work it out. Then they sent an e-mail stating that there were other options, but they never contacted me with regards to the other options. Their customer service people are robotic and down right rude on occassion. I would right e-mail after e-mail to them and then they fianlly told me that I had exceeded my 5 e-mail weekly limit so please stop e-mailing. NACA did nothing but waste my time. I got further working directly with Wells Fargo and a Senator's office directly. Thank God I never wasted my money or time becoming an actual member. Word to the wise work directly with your lender and an attorney, it's your best bet. NACA is full of hot air and never help as many people as they claim to.

Posted by C. Lopez over 8 years ago

My husband and I are working very hard to believe in NACA.  We have been trying our best to speak with someone regarding our status.  I have read the comments for and against NACA and I have to say I am losing faith very fast.  We have been in underwriting since January 7th.  After sending numerous emails we have tried to make an appoitnment online just so we can speak with our counselor to find out our status.  We tried this twice...each time we received a call or email stating that we cannot schedule an appointment through the internet but that we have to speak with our counselor for an appoitment.  I can't tell you how many times we have tried to call the couselor who's voicemail is always full.  On Feb 3 we contacted the manager who stated she will have our counselor to contact us.  Well, its now Feb 10 and no response.  So we called the manager again first thing this morning and have been again promised a call just to status where we are.  I have to say I appreciate the premise of NACA and I am working hard to believe that they are not delivering empty promises that they cannot keep.  I truly believe the couselors, including ours, are extremely busy and are working very hard for all of their clients.  This belief is slowly fading because I believe that within the last six weeks we should have received some sort of a response...AGAIN, to date nothing.  I must say I am not yet ready to give up on NACA because I have heard success stories are possible and my husband and I are praying we will soon have one....in the meantime we continue to wait, wait and wait. 

Posted by Patiently Waiting over 8 years ago

I agree with Fed up of complainers. NACA is a free organization trying to help people. Of course they are not perfect, but if you are like me, trying to work something out with your lender for 2 years and getting no where, you will appreciate their assistance. I feel as if NACA ia a God send. I know someone who used an attorney and just whine up having to file bankruptcy. I actually was referred to NACA by a co-worker whose house had a foreclosure sale date and NACA stopped the sale; so NACA has some power to change things. I know all of this is very frustrating but it's up to us to follow up on our case if we are serious about not losing it.

Posted by God Send about 8 years ago

You have no idea what you are signing up for when you become a member of NACA.

I believe in concept it is a wonderful program and I commend Bruce Marks for the fight he did in getting funds to help others. However, I believe that the program is not being managed as well as it could be. Meetings that cut back on the time clients can be helped through the home buying process takes away from so much.

I think that because a person comes to NACA that many of the counselors think that you can be treated as someone who has no common sense or pride. They speak to you as if you have no other resources.

I went to NACA with good credit. I had a wonderful job. I was met with at first happiness of those two things by the mortgage counselor I worked with. The attitude slowly changed. That mortgage counselor bragged about making other clients cry. Where is that professional? I am not a cryer. Better yet if you see me cry it is time to move.

I was doing my volunteer work in the office and learned so much. There were members that were so disillusioned by the process. They had been trying to get a house for over a year steadily bringing in documents sometimes hearing that they weren't in the system.

I started carrying my documents with me for every appointment because I was always told things weren't there that I had signed off that I had brought them in.  

Some counselors would not come to work on a regular basis or if they were in they would stay in their offices with the door close making members wait sometimes for hours. I think customer service is important no matter what profession you are a part of. Knowing that they are treating people like that they still make sure you feel like you are lucky that they are even seeing you.

I NEVER saw anyone seen on time for their appointment. I started telling members that just try to remember what their end goal is and to be their own advocate for getting through the program. Appointments would be made but not placed in the system so members would sit waiting to be called after signing in only to be told they would need to be rescheduled for another date and time. This would be after they had sat there at times for 30 minutes or more!

I am still working on getting my house. Thankfully the seller accepted my contract but the closing date has been adjusted at least 5 times now. Hopefully I will be able to jump through these last hoops and complete the process.

Posted by Perseverance is a must almost 8 years ago

It's free what do you expect.

Posted by Anonymous almost 8 years ago

I just started the home buying process with NACA...I could not wait to write a testimonial...more coming since I am still in the process b/c I have seen so many negatives about NACA and few positives.

So far I dont have much complaints about NACA except that I do not trust sending my documents via email  I have sent many fiiles only to be told that only 8 pages have been uploaded so I do it the old fashioned hard-copy way.

I attended my first workshop July 2011 and was not happy to get a counseling appointment for November 2011.  Guess what?  We are in October 2011 and I am already NACA qualified.  I could have attended my purchase workshop yesterday but was unable to, so as of next week I will be at the next workshop and I can go house hunting.  I already have a REA assigned to me.  So every situation is different.

As long as I do as NACA says I think I will be alright!!!

Posted by Happy with NACA-FOR NOW! almost 8 years ago

I just started the home buying process with NACA...I could not wait to write a testimonial...more coming since I am still in the process b/c I have seen so many negatives about NACA and few positives.

So far I dont have much complaints about NACA except that I do not trust sending my documents via email  I have sent many fiiles only to be told that only 8 pages have been uploaded so I do it the old fashioned hard-copy way.

I attended my first workshop July 2011 and was not happy to get a counseling appointment for November 2011.  Guess what?  We are in October 2011 and I am already NACA qualified.  I could have attended my purchase workshop yesterday but was unable to, so as of next week I will be at the next workshop and I can go house hunting.  I already have a REA assigned to me.  So every situation is different.

As long as I do as NACA says I think I will be alright!!!

Posted by Happy with NACA-FOR NOW! almost 8 years ago

I just started the home buying process with NACA...I could not wait to write a testimonial...more coming since I am still in the process b/c I have seen so many negatives about NACA and few positives.

So far I dont have much complaints about NACA except that I do not trust sending my documents via email  I have sent many fiiles only to be told that only 8 pages have been uploaded so I do it the old fashioned hard-copy way.

I attended my first workshop July 2011 and was not happy to get a counseling appointment for November 2011.  Guess what?  We are in October 2011 and I am already NACA qualified.  I could have attended my purchase workshop yesterday but was unable to, so as of next week I will be at the next workshop and I can go house hunting.  I already have a REA assigned to me.  So every situation is different.

As long as I do as NACA says I think I will be alright!!!

Posted by Happy with NACA-FOR NOW! almost 8 years ago

I just started the home buying process with NACA...I could not wait to write a testimonial...more coming since I am still in the process b/c I have seen so many negatives about NACA and few positives.

So far I dont have much complaints about NACA except that I do not trust sending my documents via email  I have sent many fiiles only to be told that only 8 pages have been uploaded so I do it the old fashioned hard-copy way.

I attended my first workshop July 2011 and was not happy to get a counseling appointment for November 2011.  Guess what?  We are in October 2011 and I am already NACA qualified.  I could have attended my purchase workshop yesterday but was unable to, so as of next week I will be at the next workshop and I can go house hunting.  I already have a REA assigned to me.  So every situation is different.

As long as I do as NACA says I think I will be alright!!!

Posted by Happy with NACA-FOR NOW! almost 8 years ago
The NACA program is not free! There is a membership fee and credit report fees plus they include a $50 fee in your mortgage every month. Read the fine print...nothing is free!
Posted by Nothing Is Free over 7 years ago
The NACA program is not free! There is a membership fee and credit report fees plus they include a $50 fee in your mortgage every month. Read the fine print...nothing is free!
Posted by Nothing Is Free over 7 years ago
The NACA program is not free! There is a membership fee and credit report fees plus they include a $50 fee in your mortgage every month. Read the fine print...nothing is free!
Posted by Nothing Is Free over 7 years ago

I have no experience with NACA as a home buyer, but I have met a large number of their clients, over several years. While there are sure to be happy clients as with any company, I can say I haven't met one yet. Every NACA client I have inspected a house for says the same thing, never again. Were it not for the low interest rate, they would have jumped ship a long time ago.

On a separate note, be very careful who you use on their list of contractors and inspectors. They tend to keep a list of cheap contractors who do shoddy work on their so called 'approved list'. Hate to knock my own profession, but be careful when selecting from their inspector list also. I have seen poorly written repair lists generated by NACA that can create safety hazards. They are in over their heads when in comes to writing statements of work, and one of these days someone will get hurt. They should require a construction contract, but they don't.

The people behind the desks have no clue about home renovation and construction contracts, and yet they sign off on documents they have no business signing that could get someone hurt.

I'm not saying don't use them, just do your homework when it comes to choosing the inspector and contractor. 

Posted by Home Inspector over 7 years ago

I have no experience with NACA as a home buyer, but I have met a large number of their clients, over several years. While there are sure to be happy clients as with any company, I can say I haven't met one yet. Every NACA client I have inspected a house for says the same thing, never again. Were it not for the low interest rate, they would have jumped ship a long time ago.

On a separate note, be very careful who you use on their list of contractors and inspectors. They tend to keep a list of cheap contractors who do shoddy work on their so called 'approved list'. Hate to knock my own profession, but be careful when selecting from their inspector list also. I have seen poorly written repair lists generated by NACA that can create safety hazards. They are in over their heads when in comes to writing statements of work, and one of these days someone will get hurt. They should require a construction contract, but they don't.

The people behind the desks have no clue about home renovation and construction contracts, and yet they sign off on documents they have no business signing that could get someone hurt.

I'm not saying don't use them, just do your homework when it comes to choosing the inspector and contractor. 

Posted by Home Inspector over 7 years ago

I have no experience with NACA as a home buyer, but I have met a large number of their clients, over several years. While there are sure to be happy clients as with any company, I can say I haven't met one yet. Every NACA client I have inspected a house for says the same thing, never again. Were it not for the low interest rate, they would have jumped ship a long time ago.

On a separate note, be very careful who you use on their list of contractors and inspectors. They tend to keep a list of cheap contractors who do shoddy work on their so called 'approved list'. Hate to knock my own profession, but be careful when selecting from their inspector list also. I have seen poorly written repair lists generated by NACA that can create safety hazards. They are in over their heads when in comes to writing statements of work, and one of these days someone will get hurt. They should require a construction contract, but they don't.

The people behind the desks have no clue about home renovation and construction contracts, and yet they sign off on documents they have no business signing that could get someone hurt.

I'm not saying don't use them, just do your homework when it comes to choosing the inspector and contractor. 

Posted by Home Inspector over 7 years ago

I have no experience with NACA as a home buyer, but I have met a large number of their clients, over several years. While there are sure to be happy clients as with any company, I can say I haven't met one yet. Every NACA client I have inspected a house for says the same thing, never again. Were it not for the low interest rate, they would have jumped ship a long time ago.

On a separate note, be very careful who you use on their list of contractors and inspectors. They tend to keep a list of cheap contractors who do shoddy work on their so called 'approved list'. Hate to knock my own profession, but be careful when selecting from their inspector list also. I have seen poorly written repair lists generated by NACA that can create safety hazards. They are in over their heads when in comes to writing statements of work, and one of these days someone will get hurt. They should require a construction contract, but they don't.

The people behind the desks have no clue about home renovation and construction contracts, and yet they sign off on documents they have no business signing that could get someone hurt.

I'm not saying don't use them, just do your homework when it comes to choosing the inspector and contractor. 

Posted by Home Inspector over 7 years ago

I have no experience with NACA as a home buyer, but I have met a large number of their clients, over several years. While there are sure to be happy clients as with any company, I can say I haven't met one yet. Every NACA client I have inspected a house for says the same thing, never again. Were it not for the low interest rate, they would have jumped ship a long time ago.

On a separate note, be very careful who you use on their list of contractors and inspectors. They tend to keep a list of cheap contractors who do shoddy work on their so called 'approved list'. Hate to knock my own profession, but be careful when selecting from their inspector list also. I have seen poorly written repair lists generated by NACA that can create safety hazards. They are in over their heads when in comes to writing statements of work, and one of these days someone will get hurt. They should require a construction contract, but they don't.

The people behind the desks have no clue about home renovation and construction contracts, and yet they sign off on documents they have no business signing that could get someone hurt.

I'm not saying don't use them, just do your homework when it comes to choosing the inspector and contractor. 

Posted by Inspector over 7 years ago

My ex-husband decided to go through the NACA program without me knowing about it.  Once I found out through my home mortgage company they told me it was being handled by NACA.  So I called NACA and they gave me all the information I needed.  I stated to them that I was unaware that my ex went through you and my name is on the house.  They have quit a few documents that needed signature from the both of us.  I never signed my name to any.  I told NACA that there is fradulent behavior going on and that I never once signed any documents nor will I ever.  Everything has been noted with NACA by recorded phone conversations and email. Yet my ex still keeps trying and NACA is still trying to work with my ex even though he forged my name on documents. It seems it doesn't matter with NACA on how many times I called to complain about this they just don't seem to care that criminal fraud is going on.

 

Posted by (will not state name) over 7 years ago

I just attended a NACA event in Detroit on April 14, 2012 and fond it to be a waste of my time.  They are simply the "Middlemen" and the  program is really designed for people who are truly ignorant about the mortgage financing and modification process.  Much of the stuff they went over was very basic, very elementary--they even explained it in that way--I felt like I was in grade school.  Yet, for all the time it took me to go through orientation, talk to a phone counselor, THEN my lender (a total of 5.5 hours), I was told that I was (pre)approved for a temporary modification, but I would need to submit additional information, if asked.  Well, I already submitted my 2009, 2010 AND 2011 tax returns, three of my most recent paystubs, a financial hardship letter AND two modification applications-one that NACA had me fill out and one that my lender had me fill out as well.  What more do you f*****g need???  Blood??  Then I was told that the process will still take several weeks.  All of this just to save $164 a month. 

 

I could have done everything directly with my lender and used that 5.5 hours for something more beneficial.  Don't get me wrong--modifying a loan is a good thing, but NACA is for people who simply need a lot of handholding and education about the process.  I don't.  And that's 5.5 hours of my life I won't get back.  

Also, their web-site sucks.  I tried applying online before even attending the event and parts of my application were not even saved and even if you answer "no" to questions about filing bankruptcy or having the house listed for sale, the system doesn't recognize your answer and it requires that you provide a BK case number, the listing price, etc.  Truly frustrating. So, really, that was another 2 to 3 hours I wasted with NACA.  Thanks, you have been less than helpful!

Posted by Julie Winters over 7 years ago

I just attended a NACA event in Detroit on April 14, 2012 and fond it to be a waste of my time.  They are simply the "Middlemen" and the  program is really designed for people who are truly ignorant about the mortgage financing and modification process.  Much of the stuff they went over was very basic, very elementary--they even explained it in that way--I felt like I was in grade school.  Yet, for all the time it took me to go through orientation, talk to a phone counselor, THEN my lender (a total of 5.5 hours), I was told that I was (pre)approved for a temporary modification, but I would need to submit additional information, if asked.  Well, I already submitted my 2009, 2010 AND 2011 tax returns, three of my most recent paystubs, a financial hardship letter AND two modification applications-one that NACA had me fill out and one that my lender had me fill out as well.  What more do you f*****g need???  Blood??  Then I was told that the process will still take several weeks.  All of this just to save $164 a month. 

 

I could have done everything directly with my lender and used that 5.5 hours for something more beneficial.  Don't get me wrong--modifying a loan is a good thing, but NACA is for people who simply need a lot of handholding and education about the process.  I don't.  And that's 5.5 hours of my life I won't get back.  

Also, their web-site sucks.  I tried applying online before even attending the event and parts of my application were not even saved and even if you answer "no" to questions about filing bankruptcy or having the house listed for sale, the system doesn't recognize your answer and it requires that you provide a BK case number, the listing price, etc.  Truly frustrating. So, really, that was another 2 to 3 hours I wasted with NACA.  Thanks, you have been less than helpful!

Posted by Julie Winters over 7 years ago

I just attended a NACA event in Detroit on April 14, 2012 and fond it to be a waste of my time.  They are simply the "Middlemen" and the  program is really designed for people who are truly ignorant about the mortgage financing and modification process.  Much of the stuff they went over was very basic, very elementary--they even explained it in that way--I felt like I was in grade school.  Yet, for all the time it took me to go through orientation, talk to a phone counselor, THEN my lender (a total of 5.5 hours), I was told that I was (pre)approved for a temporary modification, but I would need to submit additional information, if asked.  Well, I already submitted my 2009, 2010 AND 2011 tax returns, three of my most recent paystubs, a financial hardship letter AND two modification applications-one that NACA had me fill out and one that my lender had me fill out as well.  What more do you f*****g need???  Blood??  Then I was told that the process will still take several weeks.  All of this just to save $164 a month. 

 

I could have done everything directly with my lender and used that 5.5 hours for something more beneficial.  Don't get me wrong--modifying a loan is a good thing, but NACA is for people who simply need a lot of handholding and education about the process.  I don't.  And that's 5.5 hours of my life I won't get back.  

Also, their web-site sucks.  I tried applying online before even attending the event and parts of my application were not even saved and even if you answer "no" to questions about filing bankruptcy or having the house listed for sale, the system doesn't recognize your answer and it requires that you provide a BK case number, the listing price, etc.  Truly frustrating. So, really, that was another 2 to 3 hours I wasted with NACA.  Thanks, you have been less than helpful!

Posted by Julie Winters over 7 years ago

I just attended a NACA event in Detroit on April 14, 2012 and fond it to be a waste of my time.  They are simply the "Middlemen" and the  program is really designed for people who are truly ignorant about the mortgage financing and modification process.  Much of the stuff they went over was very basic, very elementary--they even explained it in that way--I felt like I was in grade school.  Yet, for all the time it took me to go through orientation, talk to a phone counselor, THEN my lender (a total of 5.5 hours), I was told that I was (pre)approved for a temporary modification, but I would need to submit additional information, if asked.  Well, I already submitted my 2009, 2010 AND 2011 tax returns, three of my most recent paystubs, a financial hardship letter AND two modification applications-one that NACA had me fill out and one that my lender had me fill out as well.  What more do you f*****g need???  Blood??  Then I was told that the process will still take several weeks.  All of this just to save $164 a month. 

 

I could have done everything directly with my lender and used that 5.5 hours for something more beneficial.  Don't get me wrong--modifying a loan is a good thing, but NACA is for people who simply need a lot of handholding and education about the process.  I don't.  And that's 5.5 hours of my life I won't get back.  

Also, their web-site sucks.  I tried applying online before even attending the event and parts of my application were not even saved and even if you answer "no" to questions about filing bankruptcy or having the house listed for sale, the system doesn't recognize your answer and it requires that you provide a BK case number, the listing price, etc.  Truly frustrating. So, really, that was another 2 to 3 hours I wasted with NACA.  Thanks, you have been less than helpful!

Posted by Julie Winters over 7 years ago

I just attended a NACA event in Detroit on April 14, 2012 and fond it to be a waste of my time.  They are simply the "Middlemen" and the  program is really designed for people who are truly ignorant about the mortgage financing and modification process.  Much of the stuff they went over was very basic, very elementary--they even explained it in that way--I felt like I was in grade school.  Yet, for all the time it took me to go through orientation, talk to a phone counselor, THEN my lender (a total of 5.5 hours), I was told that I was (pre)approved for a temporary modification, but I would need to submit additional information, if asked.  Well, I already submitted my 2009, 2010 AND 2011 tax returns, three of my most recent paystubs, a financial hardship letter AND two modification applications-one that NACA had me fill out and one that my lender had me fill out as well.  What more do you f*****g need???  Blood??  Then I was told that the process will still take several weeks.  All of this just to save $164 a month. 

 

I could have done everything directly with my lender and used that 5.5 hours for something more beneficial.  Don't get me wrong--modifying a loan is a good thing, but NACA is for people who simply need a lot of handholding and education about the process.  I don't.  And that's 5.5 hours of my life I won't get back.  

Also, their web-site sucks.  I tried applying online before even attending the event and parts of my application were not even saved and even if you answer "no" to questions about filing bankruptcy or having the house listed for sale, the system doesn't recognize your answer and it requires that you provide a BK case number, the listing price, etc.  Truly frustrating. So, really, that was another 2 to 3 hours I wasted with NACA.  Thanks, you have been less than helpful!

Posted by Julie Winters over 7 years ago

I just attended a NACA event in Detroit on April 14, 2012 and fond it to be a waste of my time.  They are simply the "Middlemen" and the  program is really designed for people who are truly ignorant about the mortgage financing and modification process.  Much of the stuff they went over was very basic, very elementary--they even explained it in that way--I felt like I was in grade school.  Yet, for all the time it took me to go through orientation, talk to a phone counselor, THEN my lender (a total of 5.5 hours), I was told that I was (pre)approved for a temporary modification, but I would need to submit additional information, if asked.  Well, I already submitted my 2009, 2010 AND 2011 tax returns, three of my most recent paystubs, a financial hardship letter AND two modification applications-one that NACA had me fill out and one that my lender had me fill out as well.  What more do you f*****g need???  Blood??  Then I was told that the process will still take several weeks.  All of this just to save $164 a month. 

 

I could have done everything directly with my lender and used that 5.5 hours for something more beneficial.  Don't get me wrong--modifying a loan is a good thing, but NACA is for people who simply need a lot of handholding and education about the process.  I don't.  And that's 5.5 hours of my life I won't get back.  

Also, their web-site sucks.  I tried applying online before even attending the event and parts of my application were not even saved and even if you answer "no" to questions about filing bankruptcy or having the house listed for sale, the system doesn't recognize your answer and it requires that you provide a BK case number, the listing price, etc.  Truly frustrating. So, really, that was another 2 to 3 hours I wasted with NACA.  Thanks, you have been less than helpful!

Posted by Julie Winters over 7 years ago

Can anyone tell me how NACA verifies if you still live in your home?  Also, if they find out you do not live in your home, how do they enforce the rules? Is the lein payback immediate or are you given time to rectify the issue?

 

Thanks.

Posted by user over 7 years ago

Can anyone tell me how NACA verifies if you still live in your home?  Also, if they find out you do not live in your home, how do they enforce the rules? Is the lein payback immediate or are you given time to rectify the issue?

 

Thanks.

Posted by user over 7 years ago

i attended a NACA workshop in washington DC last week. I went to attend the first time homebuyer workshop... after being push by many people that i know that have purchased a home through NACA and my mother ( she is a realestate agent as her part-time job) . The people that I know experience AFTER purchasing their homes have went well.  Im not going to sit here a write a whole essay so i will give brief pros and cons....

 

Pros: I was given the option to consult with a counselor face to face or via telephone..... i choose face to face. The counselor was nice and straight to the point with me on the things i needed to do about my credit/debts to become a successful home owner.

- the first time homebuyer seminar was very informative.... especially for people that do not know much about the home buying process.

 

Cons: The first day i went i didnt know ( because it wasnt advertised) that the workshop had set class schedules... the hours were 9am 1pm and 5pm. The 5pm class was unable to see counselors the same day... so we had to come back before the workshop was over.

- From talking with others it seems that NACA counselors have a LARGE case-load. this is where i heard the most complaints. about counselors not responding back or taking a long time to respond back to clients.  I feel these things could be solved by hiring more well trained counselors.

 

this is all i really have to say. i was scheduled to meet with my counselor 6 months from now...Due to the fact this will give me adequate time to pay of certain bills.

Posted by tina about 7 years ago

i attended a NACA workshop in washington DC last week. I went to attend the first time homebuyer workshop... after being push by many people that i know that have purchased a home through NACA and my mother ( she is a realestate agent as her part-time job) . The people that I know experience AFTER purchasing their homes have went well.  Im not going to sit here a write a whole essay so i will give brief pros and cons....

 

Pros: I was given the option to consult with a counselor face to face or via telephone..... i choose face to face. The counselor was nice and straight to the point with me on the things i needed to do about my credit/debts to become a successful home owner.

- the first time homebuyer seminar was very informative.... especially for people that do not know much about the home buying process.

 

Cons: The first day i went i didnt know ( because it wasnt advertised) that the workshop had set class schedules... the hours were 9am 1pm and 5pm. The 5pm class was unable to see counselors the same day... so we had to come back before the workshop was over.

- From talking with others it seems that NACA counselors have a LARGE case-load. this is where i heard the most complaints. about counselors not responding back or taking a long time to respond back to clients.  I feel these things could be solved by hiring more well trained counselors.

 

this is all i really have to say. i was scheduled to meet with my counselor 6 months from now...Due to the fact this will give me adequate time to pay of certain bills.

Posted by tina about 7 years ago

i attended a NACA workshop in washington DC last week. I went to attend the first time homebuyer workshop... after being push by many people that i know that have purchased a home through NACA and my mother ( she is a realestate agent as her part-time job) . The people that I know experience AFTER purchasing their homes have went well.  Im not going to sit here a write a whole essay so i will give brief pros and cons....

 

Pros: I was given the option to consult with a counselor face to face or via telephone..... i choose face to face. The counselor was nice and straight to the point with me on the things i needed to do about my credit/debts to become a successful home owner.

- the first time homebuyer seminar was very informative.... especially for people that do not know much about the home buying process.

 

Cons: The first day i went i didnt know ( because it wasnt advertised) that the workshop had set class schedules... the hours were 9am 1pm and 5pm. The 5pm class was unable to see counselors the same day... so we had to come back before the workshop was over.

- From talking with others it seems that NACA counselors have a LARGE case-load. this is where i heard the most complaints. about counselors not responding back or taking a long time to respond back to clients.  I feel these things could be solved by hiring more well trained counselors.

 

this is all i really have to say. i was scheduled to meet with my counselor 6 months from now...Due to the fact this will give me adequate time to pay of certain bills.

Posted by tina about 7 years ago

i attended a NACA workshop in washington DC last week. I went to attend the first time homebuyer workshop... after being push by many people that i know that have purchased a home through NACA and my mother ( she is a realestate agent as her part-time job) . The people that I know experience AFTER purchasing their homes have went well.  Im not going to sit here a write a whole essay so i will give brief pros and cons....

 

Pros: I was given the option to consult with a counselor face to face or via telephone..... i choose face to face. The counselor was nice and straight to the point with me on the things i needed to do about my credit/debts to become a successful home owner.

- the first time homebuyer seminar was very informative.... especially for people that do not know much about the home buying process.

 

Cons: The first day i went i didnt know ( because it wasnt advertised) that the workshop had set class schedules... the hours were 9am 1pm and 5pm. The 5pm class was unable to see counselors the same day... so we had to come back before the workshop was over.

- From talking with others it seems that NACA counselors have a LARGE case-load. this is where i heard the most complaints. about counselors not responding back or taking a long time to respond back to clients.  I feel these things could be solved by hiring more well trained counselors.

 

this is all i really have to say. i was scheduled to meet with my counselor 6 months from now...Due to the fact this will give me adequate time to pay of certain bills.

Posted by tina about 7 years ago

i attended a NACA workshop in washington DC last week. I went to attend the first time homebuyer workshop... after being push by many people that i know that have purchased a home through NACA and my mother ( she is a realestate agent as her part-time job) . The people that I know experience AFTER purchasing their homes have went well.  Im not going to sit here a write a whole essay so i will give brief pros and cons....

 

Pros: I was given the option to consult with a counselor face to face or via telephone..... i choose face to face. The counselor was nice and straight to the point with me on the things i needed to do about my credit/debts to become a successful home owner.

- the first time homebuyer seminar was very informative.... especially for people that do not know much about the home buying process.

 

Cons: The first day i went i didnt know ( because it wasnt advertised) that the workshop had set class schedules... the hours were 9am 1pm and 5pm. The 5pm class was unable to see counselors the same day... so we had to come back before the workshop was over.

- From talking with others it seems that NACA counselors have a LARGE case-load. this is where i heard the most complaints. about counselors not responding back or taking a long time to respond back to clients.  I feel these things could be solved by hiring more well trained counselors.

 

this is all i really have to say. i was scheduled to meet with my counselor 6 months from now...Due to the fact this will give me adequate time to pay of certain bills.

Posted by tina about 7 years ago

Cons: The first day i went i didnt know ( because it wasnt advertised) that the workshop had set class schedules... the hours were 9am 1pm and 5pm. The 5pm class was unable to see counselors the same day... so we had to come back before the workshop was over.

- From talking with others it seems that NACA counselors have a LARGE case-load. this is where i heard the most complaints. about counselors not responding back or taking a long time to respond back to clients.  I feel these things could be solved by hiring more well trained counselors.

 

this is all i really have to say. i was scheduled to meet with my counselor 6 months from now...Due to the fact this will give me adequate time to pay of certain bills.

Posted by tina about 7 years ago

Cons: The first day i went i didnt know ( because it wasnt advertised) that the workshop had set class schedules... the hours were 9am 1pm and 5pm. The 5pm class was unable to see counselors the same day... so we had to come back before the workshop was over.

- From talking with others it seems that NACA counselors have a LARGE case-load. this is where i heard the most complaints. about counselors not responding back or taking a long time to respond back to clients.  I feel these things could be solved by hiring more well trained counselors.

 

this is all i really have to say. i was scheduled to meet with my counselor 6 months from now...Due to the fact this will give me adequate time to pay of certain bills.

Posted by tina about 7 years ago
I bought a house through NACA in 2010 and not only did I buy a house, I bought a house that we would not have been able to get without NACA, paid no down payment, no closing cost, no private mortgage insurance and we bought our interest rate down to 0.062%. I had good credit and was offered several loans before I came across NACA. (all about $40,000 less than the $160,000 NACA got me) I would like to start by saying that this program offers benefits that are truly unheard of!!!! On the other hand it does come at a cost, a cost of great patience and perserverance. If you can jump through the paperwork hoops and provide all of the information that they continuously need and put up with less than perfect customer service (please realize that these counselors are over-worked and underpaid - you will come to realize that during the process), and have the patience to wait through the sometimes long tedious process, the end result is phenomenal and well worth the wait! Most people do not make it to the end for obvious reasons, but not because it is a scam or not possible. My biggest complaint now is that I do not get to itemize deductions because I only pay $75/year in interest. Thats a pretty nice complaint to have if you ask me. NACA made my dreams come true - I am a fan! I cannot speak personally on the home save program, but I do have a friend that has had success going through that program as well. This is a non-profit organization - people expect to get something for nothing along with great customer service is why there are complaints. If you do your part, NACA will help you. If great customer service is more important to you than saving a lot of money, you are better off paying more and going through a bank for a traditional loan.
Posted by Melissa Bremberger over 5 years ago
I am totally surprised about all the negative comments about NACA. I have been a Realtor for over 14 years and I have worked the NACA program the last 4 years. I am not a NACA Realtor but I sell many homes through the NACA program in the Dallas/Ft Worth Metroplex. Every client I have sent to NACA closed and closed on time. It's the Realtor's responsibility to assist their client through the process and if I have a buyer that is not willing to take the necessary steps to become a homeowner I simply do not waste my time and cut my losses. The buyer has a responsibility to keep their files current and follow the task list they are given by their loan consultant. My most recent client went to the workshop on January 22nd, received their NACA ID via email the following week, paid their membership fee and credit report fee, uploaded all their documents, completed the online questionaire and scheduled their appointment for February 4th with the loan consultant and was approved the following week and we went to the approval workshop that Thursday to receive his apporval letter. It doesn't get any better than that. So my recommendation is rather than complaining about the process, do what it takes to get approved and use an experienced Realtor that understands the NACA process and you will close in 30 days from the date your contract is executed. NACA is the only program that has 100% financing, pays your closing costs and does not have mortgage insurance premiums and the lender now pays the $50 NSF fee that by the way benefits the buyer if you have a hardship and no credit score requirements. Try to go FHA and it's not going to happen!!! Unless you have a 620 credit score, no late payments, no collections and by the way FHA requires collections to be paid now and the MIP is extremely high and it now stays with your mortgage payment for the life of the loan. So while you all are making such negative comments there are just as many buyers that are closing with NACA and moving in to their new home that you could have had if you just followed the guidelines. Nothing doesn't come without work involved. So I highly recommend you think about what really went wrong with the NACA process and why you didn't stick with it. Could be you or an inexperienced Realtor trying to work the NACA program? So if you live in the DFW Metroplex and you don't have a Realtor contact me if you are serious about purchasing a home thorugh NACA and I will be happy to meet with you for a oonsultation. Happy Homebuying, Alecia Smith, William Davis Realty 214-274-6056 aleciasmith@northtexashometeam.net
Posted by Alecia Smith over 5 years ago

They have all personally sucked the life out of me and my clients like vampires, I am currently keeping myself amused by trying to finad a good acronymn for NACA so I can write my next blog, every person in that Association should be replaced by computers...the only person needed outside a credit counselor is a mortgage officer/consultant and lending team...give the same benefit of this great mortgage and no PMI without all the paper pushers in between....then maybe a 30 days process could well stay 30 days and not 75 DAYS and counting, with no CLOSE DAY in sight...this transaction has made me drink more alcohol than normal transactions....God Bless America when this thing closes...IF YOU WANT TO KNOW WHAT A BACKWARDS REAL ESTATE TRANSACTION IN HOPES OF SAVING A FEW HUNDRED DOLLARS LOOKS LIKE? THEN LOOK NO FURTHER THAN NACA

Posted by Melissa Polce, Lake to Land, I've Got It Covered! (ERA, Wilkinson Real Estate Charlotte) about 5 years ago
Melissa Polce, if you are having such huge issues with NACA, why have you not reached out to NACA management or tried to contact NACA through the NACA Real Estate Department, through our social media channels, or other methods? Certainly, that has a much greater chance of resolving any issues than posting vague accusations on this website. NACA has never been nor will it ever be a 30 day process. The "own a home in 30 days" brokers were the ones who created the predatory, structured to fail loans that caused the housing bubble and in turn the Great Recession. NACA's full document underwtiting takes no shortcuts whatsoever which is why we are able to save home buyers tens of thousands of dollars (not "hundreds") over virtually any other lending source. You may want to attend the Realtor workshop held on the first Thursday evening of every month at the local NACA office in Charlotte and in every NACA office nationwide. This will give you a greater understanding of how the NACA process works, why it is so different, and why that difference has made the NACA program so successful.
Posted by Tim Trumble about 5 years ago

Tim, if you want to message me, and you work for NACA, feel free mjpolce1@gmail.com...I am not saying the first part of credit repair management and counseling is bad, the rest of it from contract to close...plainly sucks-yes there have been people on the file that have been somewhat helpful...but overall-backwards, when in this day and age you wait 30 days to do an appraisal, when your approved inspectors hold up a sign off from Hand(and come to find out-it was the inspector whom did not know how to inspect a certain type fireplace)...when its been 75 days and my folks cannot have direct access to a loan officers name, when there is no direct date in sight to close and yet we have 3 emails(and 10 days) saying there is no other stips...I am just one agent, my folks in the time they have had to extend their rental, paid extension fees, are being held hostage by NEVER knowing when it will close-they share my distain...there is a reason why so many people never make it thru...this is a longer commitment than most of my relationships thru the years. And yes, the NACA RE Dept-I did get help while asking questions and trying to upload all the documentation in the ages old system...they said "don't bother-we will make the contact at the Charlotte office do it b/c they knew it was an old system"...oh and 30 days close brokers-PLEASE, dont ever try and put me in that category...I am married to a lender-so above and beyond, I have always had an inside view of what it takes to close a loan-SO...30 days is a NORMAL close conventional, 45-60days- VA & FHA...75-90days-203k, rehab and construct to perm...WAIT-all these have an actual close date that they all work hard to complete time frames on...I attended the NACA Realtor workshop over 5 years ago...No short cuts I am a fan of, this specific transcation-Bottom Line TERRIBLE

Posted by Melissa Polce, Lake to Land, I've Got It Covered! (ERA, Wilkinson Real Estate Charlotte) about 5 years ago

I have been a Kansas City area Realtor for many years and closed hundreds of transactions. I became aware of NACA and sent a couple of clients because the program sounds great (no PMI, no downpayment). Well, the first one was rough, didn't close on time, no one returns your call, you have no information--the seller almost walked on the deal. Now doing another NACA deal and it's a nightmare. If it's a hot housing market, sellers are not interested in putting up with all the waiting (multiple contract extensions) and basic nonsense that NACA puts people through. I would never accept a NACA contract on one of my listings!

Posted by CeeCee almost 4 years ago

Nobody ever said the NACA proess was fast or easy, and the fact is that it's not supposed to be. Every "i" is dotted and every "t" is crossed. It is the antithesis of the hurry-up transactions that so many seem to want to pursue right now, failing to remember that those were the very same type of deals that created the housing bubble and the resulting economic meltdown.

There are in fact many realtors who have significantly grown their business and some who have built their entire business around NACA clients because they know that their client will have a solid home that they wil not have to worry about and a genuinely affordable payment for the life of the loan.

We're sorry that you found the length of time the program takes distasteful, and we always looking for ways to streamline the process without compromising its integrity, but it is the exacting detail of the program that makes its unequalled terms possible.

Tim Trumble
Online Operations, NACA
ttrumble@naca.com

Posted by Tim Trumble almost 4 years ago

Based on my current situation, Naca may not be worth the stress. It has literally cause me to have migraines! I have been told so many times that "I will get back to you by the end of day" and "Your counselor will call you within 24 hours" After the fifteen times I have been told this, it has NEVER happened! I'm lucky if I get some sort of contact within one week and ten phone calls. I have been in the program for a year and we didn't even have much to do other than save. Now that we have done that, we still can't seem to get anywhere! Our last counselor told us that as of end of September, we would be qualified and could start looking for a home. Well.... its almost November and we have gotten nowhere! Super frustrating! I think I'll just keep saving and go with a normal mortgage that doesn't cause the stress of NACA!

Posted by Megan Birster over 3 years ago

I have been involved with 35+ single family home real estate transactions. My experience with NACA was a joke. I honored the contract when I was told that they pride themselves now on closing within 30 days. The buying agent made us believe he had an existing relationship with NACA and would fly right through it. I had to sign four extensions by the time it was over. The communication was ridiculous. With each extension, all parties involved on the buyer side would tell me it is done, or we are almost there, or we just need a few days to finalize. No one person would tell us what was happening. NACA did not have any kind of communication with the title company that they use, nor did they communicate whatsoever with us as the sellers. In this case, it was Chicago Title. People at the NACA offices would not answer phones or call back. They were extremely rude when cornered. However, it did get to the point we had to get rude ourselves just to get answers. If you enter into a contract with NACA, just make sure you are not counting on that to go through anytime soon. Be very careful if you are in a situation where you have another sale pending contingent upon the NACA contract. I highly recommend implementing an amount of cash per day for any extension along with added funds to the earnest money for a buyer’s protection. However, I did that, closed 15 days prior to writing this, and I have still not received all of my funds. The buyers brought a rather large cashier’s check to their closing to cover the $100/day extensions reflected in the contract. NACA held the check and said they would overnight it to me. We trusted that they could at least get that right. The check never showed up even after they sent the delivery slip. A week after it was supposedly shipped, I had to start trying to make contact. The check was still sitting at their office suggesting there was no real concern about it. Their excuse was… “They ran out of fed ex supplies”. That excuse blew my mind seeing is that it was a week later. In an entire business week, they couldn’t go buy supplies? This was IN THE CONTRACT. So the buyers got the keys, got their house, however I am still missing funds 15 days later. Everything they did and said throughout the process was obviously a lie or misleading. It truly was unbelievable. There is absolutely no accountability or any real concern on their part. In short, an NACA client may offer you a good deal and a good contract. Everyone will tell you what you want to hear, despite reviews, in order to make you trust it. Just take into consideration the delays and unprofessionalism when weighing options. I am reviewing this as a seller. From what I can see, the clients and buyers love the program…they are getting special treatment and deals they otherwise couldn’t get. They seem to be allowed to make whatever changes they want and cause delays without any communication or concern over the original contract. As a seller…be very careful and protect yourself. My next step will have to be a legal process to obtain the funds or take this property back, because I cannot get the additional funds owed.

Posted by Kevin over 2 years ago

My experience with NACA was terrible!I been working with NACA for more than 6 months trying for an approval.
I started off in an odd situation trying to purchase the unit I was living in directly from the bank, because the owner had been negligent. The Sale and Purchase Agreement was signed in September of 2016, and between then and now I worked very hard to provide all the paperwork I could to move along with getting an approval. I never got it. I would provide documentation and await days before my file was touched or submitted, I would not hear back for days and sometimes weeks and when I would finally get hold of my counselor it was only to be told there were more things to submitted.
The process was taking so long I had to get THREE extensions from the bank on the sales and purchase agreement AND was required to do (and pay!) for a TWO inspection on the unit that I had been living in the whole time! I feel cheated by NACA, because since the last extension expired the bank is having me evicted and I will have an even harder time just finding a place to rent from with an eviction mark on my back. Neither one of my counselors showed much aid concern for how time sensitive my case was, or gave me proper prompting in documentations and other things that came up throughout the process. Although I had the Purchase and Sale agreement signed a few weeks prior to moving on to the bank approval portion of the process, I do not feel it fair the way they treated my case.
One of my counselors had some health complications and in his absence my file would sit unattended and I would go unhelped and left in the dark until he returned. Even when he was in the office I would go days without hearing back and when I would finally get through to talk to him, either my file was still waiting to be submitted (because it was never touched at all)or there would be more paperwork required that I was not told about. A lot of times this would mean I was due for more pay stubs and bank statements submitting because it had been so many days since I had last been updated. I had a terrible experience working with NACA, and feel I could not recommend the program to anyone else.
I am at a loss facing eviction, loosing my deposit, and all the money (2 inspection, repair work/air quality test, condo paperwork, detector inspections) I invested into the buy for.I had a Living and Occupancy Agreement which is the only portion I get back ($800 monthly since September), and even that does not out weight the loss.

Posted by T C about 2 years ago

Well you get out of it what you put into it. It’s not a walk in the park. You have to put in effort and do as they say as far as providing documents on a timely manner. I have lived in my home for 4 years now with an interest rate of 3.2 % by annual for 30 year loan. They included a new air conditioner for the home considering I live in Phoenix Arizona. House inspection is required to assure New owners don’t have issues that would prevent them from making their payments. There were times I wanted to quit...thought it was just too much work. But I stuck with it and I am so glad I did ... the people that are condemning Naca here didn’t follow through and weren’t willing to work.

Posted by Pep 9 months ago

Naca is a scam!!!! Never help me, have someone else's info on my file and cancelling appt when I question who are u!!! I call Newark office since August no supervisor call as I was told.Real Scam.Have to pay to enroll and volunteer and no answers until today. Still waiting

Posted by Ramrattie Lall 8 months ago

I was under contract on a home after receiving lending approval and an approved purchase amount from licensed mortgage broker NACA. 14 days prior to my scheduled closing date NACA informs me that they are unable to honor the approval, which is due to the errors of their underwriters, they approved to much. I am seeking my earnest money, inspection fees (all of which were paid after receiving the approval documents form NACA) loss wages to attend the scheduled meetings and required community service, return of credit check fees and member fees.

After reaching out to the lending bank, NACA is refusing to send over my file. Causing further delays and further financial strain. in 3 days my 3 children and I will be without a home due to NACA's negligence, and untimely responses.

Posted by Homeless Mother of 3 7 months ago

TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE, for myself as a home seller and for my buyer using the NACA program! DO NOT USE THE NACA PROGRAM! A normal, month long, closing date was set for the sale of our home and we still haven’t closed more than 2 weeks later! Our buyer’s NACA agent hardly ever communicated with my selling agent and they caused numerous DELAYS resulting in expired contracts and expired contract extensions. The NACA reps and BANK OF AMERICA reps would not even communicate with their client (my buyer) and told my agent to stop contacting them for updates on delayed files, all of which resulted in further delays. These delays left both myself and my buyer out of options for a place to live and we all LOST THOUSANDS of dollars! NACA would not return the dozens of calls or emails inquiring about statuses, updates, or delays and they definitely did not try to expedite the process at all, nor did they seem to care that 2 families were without proper homes and lost so much money! You will find plenty of other negative reviews for NACA! Think twice, three times, before using NACA or even Bank of America as a lender for buying a home. The negatives outweigh the potential positives!!CEO Bruce Marks, Regional Operations Manager, Director of Local Economy Projects, NACA President, NACA National Director, Tampa Office Director Felix Nunez, and NACA representatives Claudette Stewart and Tammy Johnson were reached out to and no one was able to help the situation. The reasons given for the delays were “no update”, “no status change”, “we’re busy with other accounts”.Thank you for reading!

Posted by Kori G 30 days ago

Hello Kori G,

 

We’re sorry to read of your frustration and delayed closing.  The reality is that delayed closings are extremely commonplace in the real estate industry, and the vast majority of home purchases through the NACA program do meet our 28-day contract-to-closing timeline.

 

Unfortunately, your complaint avoids the two most relevant facts in this situation. Whether this was done out of lack of knowledge or malice, the fact is that your frustration is seriously misdirected.

 

The first issue is the clear assumption on your part that NACA was responsible for the delays in closing. The truth is that once the bank application is submitted, the situation is entirely under the control of the bank and any delays in closing that occurred were originated at the bank, not by NACA.  In fact, NACA assigns a Closing Coordinator to every file. The Closing Coordinator monitors the progress the file after the bank application is submitted and advocates on behalf of the buyer should the bank create any delays or have any additional questions or need for more information.  The CC was in fact working behind the scenes to get the bank to issue the Clear to Close, but the final decision belongs at the bank.

 

Second, federal law prohibits disclosing any information about a credit application to anyone other than the persons named on the application. As such, under no circumstances would you have been given information about the buyers’ file since doing so would have quite literally been a federal crime. Your real estate agent should have advised you of this and properly guided you that the buyers are the only source from which you may legitimately get information regarding the loan.

 

We understand the extreme frustration that would result from the situation you describe, but the fact remains that NACA’s objective is to get the sale closed as much as it is yours or anyone else’s and off-target criticism does nothing to improve the situation for anyone.

Posted by Neighborhood Assistance Corporation of America, HUD certified homeownership/advocacy organization (Neighborhood Assistance Corporation of America) 29 days ago

Please, download and fill out f13909, complaint against tax-exempt org. and file it with the IRS. NACA is a 501(c)4 and the ONLY people who regulate and govern their actions are the IRS. Check "other" for the violation type, write in "actions contradictory to public policy" and describe what happened. Your voice will be heard. The IRS is the ONLY people who can stop the injustice NACA has caused so many people. The instructions to mail or email the complaint are with the form. The IRS has the authority to revoke and investigate the claims.

Posted by Rachel 28 days ago

It's sad that someone who is clearly involved with an organization on the receiving end of NACA's advocacy efforts is stooping to false information and a cheap stunt to try and discredit us.  While NACA is indeed a 501(c)4 as desgnated by the IRS,  as a certified housing counseling agency we are also responsible to HUD which has audited us in the past and found nothing inappropriate.  Additionally, Promontory Financial Services, a global consulting firm that advises clients on a variety of financial services matters, including regulatory issues, compliance, due diligence, internal investigations and cyber security has also done a thorough review of NACA's policies, procedures and results.  None of the three organizations has ever found anything  inappropriate at NACA.  However, we thank you for proving the effectivness of NACA's advocacy efforts by displaying the lengths some people and organizations will go to in order to avoid taking personal responsibility for their actions.

Posted by Neighborhood Assistance Corporation of America, HUD certified homeownership/advocacy organization (Neighborhood Assistance Corporation of America) 28 days ago

See me as your redemption, that is if you’re currently in search of a credit specialist, you don’t just come by them trust me, it took me a while around 9 months looking for a legitimate credit specialist to help me fix my credit report but finally got referred to a credit repair firm through a trusted site (Trulia). So don’t even be fooled by these scam artists or websites on here claiming to be hackers. They removed all the negatives on my report and added good tradelines, my score increased to 796 within 7 days. Contact details: NEWHORIZONCREDIT1@GMAIL.COM . You can also text them on: +1 520 441 6516 and stay away from scammers.

Posted by Victoria Aaron 19 days ago

I started my credit repair journey in mid Feb and wasn't sure if this will work. I gave DPROTOCOL a call and discussed what I was looking for. He ensured me that if I don't see a result, money back guarantee. So I gave it a try and saw results within two weeks after he started working on my account. I got five negative hit on my credit profile and he was able to removed three of them and continue to work on my account to remove the rest. I would recommend his services to anyone that’s looking for a credit repair as I saw results like he said!! (DPROTOCOL7@GMAIL.COM +1 320 245 4036).

Posted by Kasse Dawn 19 days ago

"Thank you very much! HACKNET CREDIT SPECIALIST to date, I have been quite pleased with his service and happy to report that my credit is very good and up to standard now. I have not been able to get a normal credit score for the past 5years, however, after contacting HACKNET CREDIT SPECIALIST just 3weeks ago and explain my credit situation to him and how I was turned down by Lexington Law several times trying to get my credit fixed. He boost my score to 800 excellent credit score and got rid of all negative items, student loans, collections and hard inquires on my report. I’m now enjoying a good rating of credit score. I am approved for most credit lines that I apply for — at good rates. I will continue to endorse his service. Contact him today and get all your credit issues fixed (HACKNET567@GMAIL.COM / +1 949 397 8437)

Posted by Patricia Osvaldo 18 days ago

I always knew legit hackers/programmers existed but never knew I could find one by searching online. I was convinced by my Aunt to search online for a reliable programmer and I did for hours searching for a reliable credit specialist to fix my credit, almost gave up until I found Repair Wizard. He was referred by a user on the website. I don't know why, but I never doubted him for a second. And to my optimistic expectation he never disappointed me. In less than 6 days, he had my credit fixed, my credit score raised to the score I wanted and my loans and negative items removed. All I can say is, Life is good when your problems are solved. I’m grateful to Repair Wizard for the opportunity and privilege to have and live a better life. Contact details, REPAIRWIZARD4@GMAIL.COM and his number; +1 520 441 6516.

Posted by John Walters 18 days ago

Wow.....I cannot believe when I contacted FORTRAN CREDIT REPAIR... he is really amazing still in shock, I have been scammed twice by other so called Repair services, it took just 2 weeks to remove a foreclosure and some other negative items to be removed from my credit reports. I cant wait for the remaining items to be removed. Anyone who is in credit crises, this is where to go, Super Amazing.(FORTRANCREDITREPAIR@GMAIL.COM +1 320 245 4036).

Posted by Cherono Nelson 15 days ago

My name is Davies and I live in UK. I was looking for an honest hacker to delete the negative items on my credit profile and put a high excellent score on my credit profile here in UK. I contacted Computer Warehouse Group (COMPUTERWAREHOUSEGROUP1@GMAIL.COM, +1 912 388 3132) although they work from the United States but their clients are scattered abroad. I made them understand I have been ripped twice and that I can make payment only when the job is done and they accepted on my terms and they got started. After 5 days, they wiped the negatives items and raised my score to a high excellent score. My credit looks good now and am qualified for everything. You can contact them now for any credit issues and they will fix your credit no matter where you are.

Posted by Davies Anderson 15 days ago

Hello everyone my name is Daniel Blake and I live in the states of Massachusetts. I ran into the hand of this legit credit specialist here online. He helped me increase my score to high 700s which was in a low 400s and also wipe the negative Items on my profile. I got everything I wanted and also purchased a suitable home for my family and I. Contact him now and have your credit report cleared within 6 business days. Contact details: REPAIRWIZARD4@GMAIL.COM , or text +1 520 441 6516.

Posted by Daniel Blake 14 days ago

I have been fighting and disputing with all 3 of the major credit reporting bureaus Experian, Equifax and Trans Union about many negative items that are appearing on my credit reports that do not belong to me or have I ever associated with as I was a victim of identity theft. I have faxed and emailed to all of them the mandatory documentation and everything else however, they keep coming back with removing absolutely nothing. I hired 2 credit repair agencies, Lexington Law and credit repair .com and again that was a waste of time and all of it ended up in my being totally ripped off and scammed for over $1600.00. Thanks to God after a careful research, I contacted the credit specialist and he offered a professional service to me. He deleted all the negative items and raised my score to 795 within 5 days and that was a blast. I recommend him for your full package credit repair process and here is their contact info: (CREDITSPECIALIST4@GMAIL.COM, +1 912 388 3132.

Posted by Danny Leno 14 days ago

I once had a ton of credit card debt. That blemish stayed on my credit score for years and affected my score so badly coupled with an eviction on my profile. Some couple of weeks back I was surfing the internet on credit repair site and for some reason I kept bumping into this credit repair freak – NEW HORIZON, I saved their contact (NEWHORIZONCREDIT1@GMAIL.COM, +1 520 441 6516) and identified with him as it were. I explained the situation and I was assured of a clean and safe credit repair process. Well after about a week, they cleared all the credit card debt, deleted the eviction on my profile and eventually raised my score to a very high 700s. I can’t help but wonder how amazing it seems to be back on track again for good. Contact them and get your life back.

Posted by Heller Raver 13 days ago

My scores were 509 Trans Union and 519 Equifax on credit karma, the files contained inquiries, eviction, medical bills and utility charge offs and have no real trade lines. I needed capital for a business opportunity I had therefore I needed to fix my credit and I needed it real quick. I was introduced to Credit Specialist for help and what appealed to me was the fact that they do the job first and then get paid and that was true in my case as well. I was ripped off 3 times by fake credit repair imposters but they (CREDITSPECIALIST4@GMAIL.COM, +1 912 388 3132) helped me. They deleted the eviction, inquiries and other bad items preventing me from been qualified for the loan and eventually raised my score to 786 and that was unbelievable. Thereafter, I qualified for the loan and I started my business.

Posted by Sulivan Rob 12 days ago

My name is Audrey Forster. I opened a secured credit card account, put $2000 of my money down as the security deposit, used the credit card only one time for $700 and paid it off immediately so I have had a zero balance since then and I have tried for months to get my money back and I have talked to over 15 people and everyone keeps passing me around and no one can help. This was the biggest rip off I had, but thanks to Jack for recommending a credit guru. I contacted him, he got the job done within few days and I was later save from getting rip off. Thanks REPAIR WIZARD and I’m proud to review you to the world. Get more details about him via credit related issues on: (REPAIRWIZARD4@GMAIL.COM) , or text him on (+1 520 441 6516).

Posted by Audrey Forster 12 days ago

Hi I am Brad and I was online at Trulia and was reading comments and testimonials referring real people like me that literally can never buy a home or anything. How could you be real? What I need is a magic eraser or time machine! Got neither of those until I met New Horizon, a good credit firm sent by god to help good for nothing people like me. New Horizon cleaned all the negative items (medical bills, student loans, an eviction, foreclosure and too many inquiries) on my credit report and raised my score to 810 within a relatively short time (7 business days), may God bless them. I owe them everything because I have a place I can now call my home and a new car, I strongly recommend their expertise for your quick credit repair process. Here is their contact-NEWHORIZONCREDIT1@GMAIL.COM, +1 520 441 6516, you can rely on their faithfulness and professionalism rather than been scammed, they’re good in hacking related issues and believes in karma.

Posted by Brad Nelson 12 days ago

I had 5 eviction hearings (one is a duplicate) on my rental history report. They were all zero balances. I didn’t owe any money to the complex and they were from 2015-2017. My scores were 540, 572 and 520 on Transunion, Experian and Equifax respectively. I needed someone to wipe them all out and raise my score to a high 700s so I can get a home. I spoke to a friend about my credit issues and he decided to help me by introducing me to a Credit Specialist. They wiped all the eviction, raised my scores to 782, 789 and 796 on Transunion, Experian and Equifax respectively. I got the home and thanks to their expertise. Here is their contact: (CREDITSPECIALIST4@GMAIL.COM, +1 912 388 3132), you can hit them up and get your credit issues sorted out ASAP.

Posted by Lloyd Spicer 11 days ago

Hello happy new month everyone I’m Bella Wells, from Texas currently living in Boston Several weeks ago I searched online for a credit repair agent to help me fix my bad credit report and by chance I came across HACKNET. On my credit I had couple of late payment, evictions, negative items on my report and a low score 520 which denied me from getting a FHA loan because I was in need of getting a house. I contacted HACKNET CREDIT SPECIALIST and asked for more information about he’s service and time frame, he gave me a quick response about the process it sounds good. We moved on with the process, I provided a few info he requested to start the process. 10days later he contacted me and told me to go check my credit and by the time I checked it was amazing 790 excellent I am so excited and my FHA loan request was accepted all thanks to HACKNET you can write him at HACKNET567@GMAIL.COM/ +1 949 397 8437

Posted by Bella Wells 10 days ago

Hi!! My name is Boyd Franklin I am in the UK and I needed to improve my credit score because I couldn’t get approved for a car mortgage as a result of a poor credit score. I had medical bills, too many inquiries, charge offs, late payments and an eviction. Although REPAIR WIZARD lives in the United States however, as a credit repair guru he promised to erase all the negative items influencing my credit profile negatively, replacing them with beautiful lines of credit and eventually increase my score to a high 800 so I can be qualified for the car mortgage and even qualify for the new job I seek. Guess what happened after 7 business days - he deleted all the negative items and raised my score. My family and I are very happy now because I got the car mortgage and the new job. If anyone needs his or her credit fixed ASAP, whether in the Uk, Canada or US, Just run to him he will get the job done in a relatively short time. Contact; REPAIRWIZARD4@GMAIL.COM, +1 520 441 6516.

Posted by Boyd Franklin 9 days ago

Greetings friends My name is Adolfo I'm from MaryLand. I feel so excited writing this testimony.Firstly I give a big thanks to CRG (Credit Repair Guru) and company at large for making it possible for me to have my status back as result of their good repair job done on my credit profile, it is in deed a great testimony to share, I feel very much better.Two weeks ago I was in search of a credit repair specialists to help fix my poor credit profile which was standing as obstacle from getting a loan and mortgage and I had just the end of this July to be evicted from my apartment.On this site I read some good testimonies about Credit Repair Guru and their good repairs.I decided to give them a trial, I had no option.I sent some mails regarding to my credit profile status to CREDITREPAIRGURU4@GMAIL.COM and also text messages to +1 (614) 946-5135 as directed.Two days after I got a mail, it was from CRG and was a positively reply with details of the whole hacking process and we got started ASAP.Unlike the previous imposter that failed me, this time it was a team work between CRG and myself. Though i felt stressed during some process, but today I'm very happy, the results are success.How they did it, I can't really say, its amazed not just by the increase of my credit score to 750, but also removed five negative items which included an eviction and added the three national credit bureaus (Equifax, Experian and TransUnion)Life is beautiful Good bless American.

Posted by Adolfo Anderson 6 days ago

Few months back I lost money to unqualified hackers who promised to help me repair my bad credit after everything they did nothing concerning my credit issues because I was desperately in need of getting a house of my own but my low credit score wouldn’t allow me then I met an old friend of mine who told me about a credit specialist called HACKNET he has been working with for the past 2years now and how good his services is. Then I contacted him on HACKNET567@GMAIL.COM/ (949) 397-8437 and explained my credit issues and how I was ripped off by so called hackers trying to get my credit fixed, he gave me a positive response and he moved on with the process I was surprise to see my score raised from a low 430 to 810, all negatives items collections loans late payment wiped out. I’m now living freely in my own house. You can reach him with the above contact details and please tell him Gilberto referred you to him. Thanks

Posted by Gilberto Hector 6 days ago

Greetings my name is Marion Norris. I’m from Atlanta few weeks back I was in a terrible situation that I urgently needed to fix my credit. I contacted various credit Agency I met online to help me fix my credit but could not pull through. I disclosed my situation to a co-worker Marcus he recommended a Credit Specialist by name HACKNET CREDIT SPECIALIST he used some time that delivered a job for him HACKNET567@GMAIL.COM/ (949) 397 8437 I contacted him and explained the situation on ground hitting how desperately I needed a house but my credit rate wouldn’t allow me, after much discussion and findings I was okay to move on with the process I presented the necessary info he requested to kick start. He got my credit fixed in 12days It’s really amazing working with HACKNET with great professionalism I also made him my personal hacker you can hit him up on the address above tell him I sent you. Thanks.

Posted by Marion Norris 2 days ago

Participate